Reverse Coed Rules Clarifications

Hang 10 Volleyball

Rule Clarifications

Reverse Coed

Back Row Attacks - If the last team contact is by a male, the player's last court contact must be behind the 3m line or a portion of the ball must be below the height of the net when the ball is contacted, otherwise it is a fault.  There is NO clear upward trajectory interpretation to this. 

 

No Courtesy Rule - Any player can serve to any opposing player regardless of who was served previously.  Seriously, stop it with this courtesy rule stuff. It is 2018 for goodness sakes.  

 

A Net is a Net - If you contact any portion of the net during play, it is a fault.

Block as a Touch - Block counts as a touch in all divisions.

Hard Driven Ball -Finger action (beach dig) allowed for first contact on a hard-driven ball.Hard-driven is defined as a ball you don't have time to think about to play with your hands.

 

Court Boundary - Entering any adjacent court that is scheduled for competition during play is a fault.

 

No Centerline Violations - If a player goes under the net during play, it is not a fault, unless it interferes with the other team's ability to make an immediate play the ball.

 

Time Outs A single one-minute time out per team per set is allowed.

 

Game Delay Forfeiture - Any delay longer than 5 minutes creates a forfeiture of the current set, including those caused by injury. The tournament director has discretion to extend injury time-outs.

 

Hand Setting The calling of infractions on hand sets has historically been inconsistent in Raleigh and surrounding areas. There is a common misconception that hand sets can be judged based on the number of rotations by the ball in the air. No such criterion has appeared in any recognized beach volleyball rule set in recent history. The USAV Beach volleyball rule book clarifies this matter:

 

Rotation of a set ball may indicate a held ball or multiple contacts during the set but in itself is not a fault.

 

It's also worth noting that the AVP, FIVB and USA have followed the trend of loosening up on hand setting calls. The purpose of this change is to encourage longer rallies, and decrease the number of rallies decided by the officials. Even so, we encourage you to call your own mishandled sets! You know when you double or lift a set, so don't be known as the person who doesn't call their own faults.

 

Check out this very informative video from top AVP official John King: John King (Head AVP official) Infractions on Hand Setting. 

 

Key takeaways:

1.     You can call two infractions on any set: (a) a lift whereby the ball comes to a noticeable rest in the players hand (hands come down with the ball then back up (in other words you re-direct the ball two times), which is different from the hands being low before receiving the ball in the hands I asked John about this specifically when I had 20 minute discussion with him and you can deep dish a set without lifting it) or (b) a double, which is whenever the refs sees two discernible contacts of the ball when it enters or leaves the players hands. 

2.     Spin is an INDICATOR of a double, but it is not in of itself a double.  There is NO RULE if a ball spins x number of times it is a double.

3.     Stop watching for spin on the ball and start watching the hands and feet (you can usually tell when there will be a lift or double based on the base of the player) of the setter.

4.   Be consistent and be fair.  It is up to us as players to regulate ourselves.  Do you want the reputation as the overly honest player or the player willing to cheat to win?


Non-Drive Attacks Misconceptions: Please watch this short video to educate yourself on some of the most common incorrectly called infractions, including setting a non-driven ball, simultaneous contacts, etc.: Non-Driven Attacks Video.

 

What is a Hard Driven Ball Misconceptions:  Please watch this short video to educate yourself on one of the most incorrectly called infractions: What is a Hard Driven Ball Video.

 

Wait, You Can Redirect an Overpass?:  Please watch this short video to educate yourself on another one of the most incorrectly called infractions: Wait, You Can Redirect an Overpass?  

 

Let Service Rule aka the Brian Murray Rule (New Rule) We will be implementing the let service rule for the entire 2018 season.  This is in principle similar tennis service:if the serve hits the net in any way and lands in bounds (i.e., in the court or the line), the server will be permitted to re-serve.  If on the re-serve (i.e., the second serve) the serve again hits the net in any way (even if the re-serve lands in bounds) or if the re-serve is served out of bounds, it is a fault and results in a sideout under rally scoring rules (i.e., the team receiving serve is awarded a point and service).  Of course, if the serve hits the net and goes out of bounds it is still a fault and results in aside out.